Guides & Reviews

1 604  2
3 days ago

When the FatShark HDOs hit the market in 2018 the FPV community rejoiced for the new Sony OLED displays. While they lacked further upgrades like an updated DVR and power button they were still a market success. With the 2019 announcement of the Orqa FPV.One the community finally had a potential HDO killer on the horizon. With only weeks before the release of the Orqa FPV.One Skyzone came out of left..

Read more
50 5,697  35
Aug 21, 2019

Want to learn how to build an FPV rig? This guide will walk you through your first FPV freestyle build. These parts were hand-picked to balance cost and maximize performance. The TBS Source One is a popular frame for it's low cost, high quality carbon fiber. It's easy to work with and provides more than enough space for your electronics. We've got a 32bit 4-in-1 ESC to bring you the smoothest flights..

Read more
43 5,596  30
Jul 30, 2019

You've probably heard the term "Cinewhoop". Traditionally it's a 3" ducted quad capable of carrying a GoPro Hero7 Black at a low 10 degree angle. More recently the term "Cine" has been applied to a number of RTF quads ranging from 85mm to 3". They all focus on their HD capability, but none compare to the stabilization of Hypersmooth (only available on the Hero7 Black). This is what really offers that..

Read more
42 5,847  48
May 31, 2019

A couple years ago I built the TransTEC Frog and since then I've been patiently waiting for another TransTEC frame to catch my eye. Fast forward to today and the TransTEC Laser S is that frame. It's a 82g racing frame that features 6mm arms, a TPU micro cam mount, 30.5mm and 20mm stack mounts and 3K carbon and 7075 hardware. My goal here was to build a high quality 6S racer at a reasonable price. I'd..

Read more
Apr 17, 2019

This is the 4th installment to my popular "Wizard Killer" series, and is based on the popular Wizard X220HV 6S. As usual, the goal was to build a substantially better quad, yet come in below the retail price of the BNF kit. Here are some of the improvements: Higher quality EMAX ECO 2306 1700kv motors Foxeer's top-of-the-line Falkor mini camera Eachine 25mw-1000mw Leaf VTX with microphone Tools This..

Read more
Jan 15, 2019

The iFlight XL5 V3 is a fantastic freestyle frame for the price. It features chamfered edges on some very nice quality carbon fiber. My goal for this build was to use high quality components at a relatively low price. Not only that, but I managed to reduce the number of solder points to the bare minimum. I've never built such a plug-in-play quad! The flight controller has an integrated VTX and doesn't..

Read more
16 4,827 
Nov 16, 2018

Update! Happymodel has released a new V2 Frame which uses a more durable plastic. The Happymodel Mobula7 is one of those rare treats to hit the micro scene. Countless models hit the market every month, but this one just happens to check all the boxes. It's a 2S brushless micro with a 75mm motor stance. It's slightly larger than the more traditional 65mm brushed micros, but it's still quite small...

Read more
4 3,997  6
Nov 13, 2018

The Flysky Nirvana is a very cool radio. It has two enlongated grips, a color touchscreen, module support, rear switches, an internal charger, and a retractable antenna. When you see it you either hate it or love it. From the tall display to the rainbow anodized look it's sure to catch some attention. Features Gamepad style design Hall sensor gimbals Internal AFHDS 2A transmitter 3.5in 320x480 color..

Read more
2 2,827  2
Sep 21, 2018

The Aomway Commander V2s are the 2018 followup to the successful Aomway Commander V1 FPV headset. Unlike their predecessor, which targeted the FatShark Dominator V3s, the Commander V2s have set their sights higher toward the FatShark HD3s. Instead of 16:9 displays with a 32 degree field of view (FOV) the V2s now sport 4:3 displays with an impressive 45 degree FOV. And unlike the HD3s, these switch..

Read more
3 3,206  8
Aug 21, 2018

The FB 009 is a lightweight and compact budget FPV headset. When I first saw this I thought it might be worth a try. I'm never quite sure which headset to recommend at this price point, so let's see how this stands up. Most notably it includes a USB chargeable 1S 1200mah battery which is a decent capacity for an internal battery. The headset is compact and features a 3" 480x320 16:9 display. The..

Read more
Aug 14, 2018

The Rotor Riot CL1 is a community collaborated design based loosely on the popular ImpulseRC Alien and the Martian II. It's a low-budget freestyle frame with thick 5mm x 20mm arms, so it should take quite a beating. Additionally it provides 20mm mounting in the rear for a VTX which is a nice touch. It's very easy to build and perfect for a first build. The parts I chose for this build are a balance..

Read more
Aug 05, 2018

The EV200D is Eachine's long awaited follow-up to their budget oriented EV100. These offer a much larger 42 degree field of view (FOV) on 16:9 720p LCoS displays. This is the second goggle to utilize the LCoS technology behind the failed Topsky F7X. Traditionally FPV goggles use LCD displays, so LCoS is unproven, but Eachine did a great job implementing the technology. Features DVR HDMI input 42..

Read more
2 1,352  2
Jul 31, 2018

The Think Tank FPV Session is among the premier FPV backpacks. From its quality materials to its accessible design its a great pack for day to day use. The FPV Session is the little brother to the ThinkTank FPV Helipak which I reviewed earlier this year. It's smaller and geared more toward a day trip, but Think Tank managed to fit quite a lot of utility into this pack. Build Quality Like the FPV..

Read more
17 9,265  18
May 28, 2018

Before giving this a thorough review I thought I'd do a teardown to see what makes the Taranis X-Lite tick. Without getting into too much detail the X-Lite is a new FPV transmitter designed to be compact and ergonomic. It's shaped like a video game controller but has all of the functionality of a traditional transmitter like the Taranis Q X7 or the Taranis X9D. It features OpenTX and supports most..

Read more
55 7,893  24
May 24, 2018

The Bannilite was a collaborative effort between Luke Bannister, AKA BanniUK and Falcon Multirotors. The Bannilite features ample camera protection, easy arm replacements and weighs in at only 72g. It even includes a spare arm and camera mount. It's an excellent choice for FPV racing and doesn't break the bank. The goal of this build was to feature a number of modern FPV luxuries including easy..

Read more
3 10,420  6
May 08, 2018

This is a surprising little transmitter. The Jumper T8SG Plus is a compact, multi-protocol radio tailored for FPV pilots. While it's not the cheapest transmitter on the market, it's certainly a huge leap forward in terms of quality and flexibility. The multi-protocol module lets you fly most toy quads as well as hobby-grade FPV racers. The hall sensor gimbals offer precise control and the OLED..

Read more
63 9,406  56
Apr 26, 2018

The Diatone GT-M200 is a racing/freestyle frame that features an aluminum alloy cage and 6mm replaceable arms. The goal of this build was to balance price, features and quality. It features an F4 flight controller which allows an 8khz gyro update and PID loop frequency and the latest filters. Additionally with BLHeli_32 it supports the DSHOT1200 motor protocol and custom startup music. This also..

Read more
1 4,565  6
Apr 05, 2018

The SJ RG01 is a unique entry into the FPV space. It's unlike any other headset. What makes it stand out is its compact size and budget price. Traditionally budget headsets feature a single display requiring more physical distance between the lens and display. More expensive FatShark-style goggles use two small displays to create a much more compact unit while compromising the field-of-view (FOV)...

Read more
Jan 20, 2018

This is the 3rd revision in the "Wizard Killer" series of builds based on the Martian II frame. The original Wizard Killer was my response to the successful Eachine Wizard RTF quad. The Mark III supersedes the more budget oriented Wizard Killer Mark II and is the most featured packed, simple to build and powerful of the three. The base weight with props is about 326g and fully loaded with a battery..

Read more
8 6,008  3
Jan 10, 2018

The Topsky F7X V2 is a 16:9 42 degree field-of-view FPV goggle. This is the updated V2 release which came 3 months after the failed V1 model from October, 2017. V1 had several issues and most reviewers declared it a failure. Did Topsky fix the issues and are these worth buying? Let's find out. On paper this sounded like a wonderful new goggle. Unfortunately we were let down. The displays exhibited..

Read more