Guides & Reviews

Jan 20, 2018

This is the 3rd revision in the "Wizard Killer" series of builds based on the Martian II frame. The original Wizard Killer was my response to the successful Eachine Wizard RTF quad. The Mark III supersedes the more budget oriented Wizard Killer Mark II and is the most featured packed, simple to build and powerful of the three. The base weight with props is about 326g and fully loaded with a battery..

Read more
7 3,193  3
Jan 10, 2018

At last, the Topsky F7X V2 is available. This is the updated V2 release which came 3 months after the failed V1 model from October, 2017. V1 had several issues and most reviewers declared it an utter failure. Did Topsky fix the issues and are these worth buying? Let's find out. On paper this sounded like a wonderful new goggle. Unfortunately we were let down. The displays exhibited ghosting, the..

Read more
6 1,350 
Dec 01, 2017

The ThinkTank FPV Airport Helipak is the premier travel bag for FPV enthusiasts. I've taken this bag across the country and around the world, and I really can't imagine a better pack for the job. It's huge. It's the size of a carry-on luggage, and it's designed specifically for FPV. It offers customizable compartments that can store a handful of quads, a transmitter or two, a couple sets of goggles,..

Read more
4 1,713  4
Oct 24, 2017

The EV100 Micro AV Recorder is a DVR for the Eachine EV100 headset. Eachine should have built this into the headset, but here we are. It's about the size of a matchbook and works quite well despite a short learning curve. It's powered by the same battery included with the EV100 and uses the white balance lead. Other than that you can use either of the included 2.5mm to 3.5mm cables to plug it into..

Read more
10 4,126  12
Sep 29, 2017

The much anticipated Eachine EV100 headset has finally arrived! Opinions have been quite polarized and unless you've never flown FPV before you're likely to find fault in the field of view (FOV). I've tried a number of headsets and have to admit that I've been spoiled by the FatShark HD2 and HD3 goggles. That being said these are nowhere near those prices, so I'd like to compare the EV100 to a few..

Read more
Sep 09, 2017

Check the latest revision, the Wizard Killer Mark III This is an even cheaper followup to my original Wizard Killer build. If you catch the sales and coupons just right you can build this for $100 excluding the cost of the receiver. This will perform nearly identical to the original Eachine Wizard except it offers a handful of additional features like OSD, Dshot, and Blackbox. This is a relatively..

Read more
60 6,260  66
Aug 17, 2017

This is a budget frame with a curved aluminum chassis. While the carbon quality isn't spectacular, it's slightly thicker than 4mm, so that should translate to higher durability. It's a really tight fit, but the stack is well protected. Also, because of this, you're limited to an AIO flight controller/ESC board or a PDB flight controller with individual ESCs. I don't think you can fit two boards,..

Read more
38 3,157  20
Jul 24, 2017

Introducing the Volcor Split! This little guy weighs less than 250g on 3S and records in 1080p HD. The dry weight with RotorX 3040t props is 162g. The goal here was to create a compact HD quad that can fly virtually anywhere. This is great for small backyards and parks and has plenty of oomph. The build difficulty is moderate, but the soldering is reduced due to the all-in-one flight controller/ESC..

Read more
52 6,055  59
Jul 06, 2017

I've been very impressed with the quality of the GEPRC frames, so despite the fact that it's a clone I just had to give this one a try. This isn't a lightweight frame, but it's not a brick either. It should hold up to a fair bit of abuse. Both the flight controller and 4-in-1 ESC are the same ones I used on my Race Frog build. They work well together and are a proven combination. The quad weighs..

Read more
50 7,520  40
May 12, 2017

The Armattan Japalura is the little brother to the popular Armattan Chameleon. The components used here will work on either the 3" or the 4" baseplate. Traditionally 1407 motors have been used exclusively on 3" builds, but a new trend has emerged putting 4" props on a 3" powertrain. The advantage is a light-weight build with the flexibility to choose either 3" or 4" props and carry an HD camera...

Read more
Apr 15, 2017

I really liked the look of this frame, so I thought I'd put together a semi-budget build around it. While it's a tight fit, it's an easy build and weighs in at only 286g. This build supports Dshot600 and offers OSD for voltage monitoring and a built-in blackbox for tuning. It can easily carry a Session or Runcam 3 with a bottom mounted battery, but you can top mount at the cost of an HD cam. These..

Read more
Mar 07, 2017

Check the latest revision, the Wizard Killer Mark III Whether or not you're new to FPV quads, you've probably heard of the Eachine Wizard. While it's a great starter rig it has some shortcomings. This guide provides instructions on how to build a higher quality, comparable quad at nearly the same price. Some improvements include: F4 flight controller for faster loop times Dshot compatible 4-in-1..

Read more